The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council – Change of justices

Posted by David Miles on
In June Lady Hale was appointed Duty President of the Supreme Court succeeding Lord Hope of Craighead, who retired in June. 

Lord Reed

Lord Reed was appointed as one of the two Scottish Justices of the Supreme Court to replace Lord Hope.

He was appointed to the Outer House of the Court of Session in 1998 and promoted to the Inner House in January 2008. During 1999 he sat as an ad hoc judge of the European Court of Human Rights. 

Lord Carnwath

Lord Carnwath served as Attorney General to the Prince of Wales from 1988 to 1994. A Chancery judge from 1994 to 2002, during which time he was also Chairman of the Law Commission, he was appointed to the Court of Appeal in 2012.

Between 2007 and 2012 he was Senior President of Tribunals. 

Lord Hughes

Lord Hughes was appointed as a judge in the High Court (Family Division) from 1997 to 2003 and the Queen's Bench Division from 2004 to 2006.

He was appointed to the Court of Appeal in 2006 and served as Vice President of its Criminal Division from 2009 until his appointment to the Supreme Court in April 2013. 

Lord Toulson

Lord Toulson sat in the Commercial Court and the Administrative Court.

Between 2002 and 2006 he was Chairman of the Law Commission of England and Wales and appointed to the Court of Appeal in 2007. He was appointed a Justice of the Supreme Court in April 2013. 

About the Author

David has acted as a Privy Council agent since 1993. He has conducted many cases from most of the Privy Council jurisdictions.

David Miles
Email David
01865 254281

View Profile