Maggie O’Farrell wins 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction

Posted on 10th September 2020
British author Maggie O’Farrell has won the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction and is crowned the Prize’s 25th winner with her eighth novel Hamnet (Tinder Press).

O’Farrell’s Hamnet, set in 1596 and inspired by the life and death of Shakespeare’s only son, was chosen from a shortlist that included Dominicana by Angie Cruz, Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo, A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes, The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel and Weather by Jenny Offill.

In a live digital awards ceremony developed for the 25th year, the 2020 Chair of Judges Martha Lane Fox announced Maggie O’Farrell as the winner live from London, while fellow judge Paula Hawkins presented the author with the £30,000 prize and the ‘Bessie’, a limited-edition bronze figurine, in her hometown of Edinburgh.

Martha Lane Fox, Chair of Judges, said: “The euphoria of being in the same room for the final judging meeting was quickly eclipsed by the excitement we all feel about this exceptional winner. Hamnet, while set long ago, like all truly great novels expresses something profound about the human experience that seems both extraordinarily current and at the same time, enduring.”

Bea Carvalho, Fiction Buyer at Women’s Prize retail partner Waterstones, said: “We are thrilled that the Women’s Prize judges have chosen Maggie O’Farrell’s beautiful and heartbreaking Hamnet as the prize’s 25th winner. The last year has seen some stunning fiction by women writers, and Hamnet stands out as a work of immense elegance and emotional heft. We are delighted that we will be able to share it with so many more customers as a result of this well-deserved win.”

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating and honouring fiction by women. Now in its 25th year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women in English from across the world. Blake Morgan were proud to support the Women’s Prize for Fiction again in 2020.

The judges for the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction are:

  • Martha Lane Fox (Chair), businesswoman, philanthropist and public servant
  • Scarlett Curtis, writer and activist
  • Melanie Eusebe, co-founder of the Black British Business Awards
  • Viv Groskop, author and comedian
  • Paula Hawkins, international bestselling author

Enjoy That? You Might Like These:

7 December
Blake Morgan, a leading law firm with roots in the South region, has been shortlisted in the Deal of the Year Award at the Insider South East Dealmakers Awards 2024. Read More
6 December
The UK’s 50 most inclusive employers have been revealed and Blake Morgan is delighted to have achieved their highest ever placing (32) in their seventh successive year on the 2023... Read More
28 November
Blake Morgan’s Succession & Tax team in Cardiff has been named as the Private Client Team of the Year at the 2023 Wales Legal Awards. Read More