Women’s Prize for Fiction 2022 judges announced

Posted on 9th November 2021

The judges for the 2022 Women’s Prize for Fiction were announced on Tuesday, 9 November, marking the launch of the annual book award. Blake Morgan are delighted to continue their partnership with Women’s Prize and are looking forward to the celebration of female creativity.

Chair of Judges, Mary Ann Sieghart, is joined by Lorraine Candy, award-winning journalist and editor; Dorothy Koomson, global bestselling novelist, journalist and podcaster; Anita Sethi, award-winning author and literary journalist; and Pandora Sykes, journalist, broadcaster and author.

Mary Ann Sieghart commented:

It’s a great honour to be chosen to chair the judging for the Women’s Prize for Fiction. There are so many fabulous contemporary female writers who deserve to be better read. I hope that our longlist, shortlist and final winner will inspire new readers, male and female, to sample the extraordinary variety of fiction created by women today.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is awarded for the best full-length novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom between 1 April 2021 and 31 March 2022. The Prize champions excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing, and the winner receives a cheque for £30,000, anonymously endowed, along with a limited edition bronze statuette known as the ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. The 2021 winner of the Women’s Prize was Susanna Clarke’s Piranesi (Bloomsbury publishing).

2022 Women’s Prize for Fiction judges

The 2022 Women’s Prize for Fiction judges. Pic credit: Sam Holden Agency for the Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Blake Morgan and the Women's Prize for Fiction

After many years of supporting the Women’s Prize for Fiction behind the scenes, we are delighted to be proud partner of, and the Official Legal Provider to, the Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Insights and invitations from Blake Morgan


Enjoy That? You Might Like These:

7 December
Blake Morgan, a leading law firm with roots in the South region, has been shortlisted in the Deal of the Year Award at the Insider South East Dealmakers Awards 2024. Read More
6 December
The UK’s 50 most inclusive employers have been revealed and Blake Morgan is delighted to have achieved their highest ever placing (32) in their seventh successive year on the 2023... Read More
28 November
Blake Morgan’s Succession & Tax team in Cardiff has been named as the Private Client Team of the Year at the 2023 Wales Legal Awards. Read More